A Feast of Characters

I never miss a meal. Well, truth be told, I frequently eat like a hobbit; noshing all day long. I won’t be able to do it much longer, so I better get used to eating regular meals. The reason is that I have finally listened to the advice of several dentists and will be getting braces. This is a BIG deal for me because I have such dental anxiety that even thinking about going to the dentist can put me in full blown panic mode. Yet, I have found a dentist that is gentle, patient, and explains everything really well. Plus, I got a great deal on the Invisalign. At this point I am waiting for the first set to come in.

Now, back to the subject at hand: Food, feasting and characters to share it with…

Today we are supposed to pick ONE favorite character that we would love to hang out with. It is so difficult to choose just one. There are so many characters from books and/or movies that would be a blast to hang out with or to sit down and eat a meal with.

But since I love food so much let’s start there:

The top characters would be:

1)     Tita from the book/film Like Water for Chocolate

2)     Babette from the movie Babette’s Feast

3)     The women from the book/film Fried Green Tomatoes

4)     Vianne from the book/film Chocolat

These characters are as rich as the foods they prepare. They know how to put love, laughter and passion into everything they do. Their lives are as full as their tables. I would love to hang out with any of these women. Tita is boiling over with passion, yet she has no one to give it to. Instead she literally puts it in the food that she prepares. Babette is very much like Tita, as she is living safely in a remote village far from what she is used to. She too puts her heart and soul into her cooking. Through food she connects the entire village. There are some seriously fiery women in Fried Green Tomatoes and each one would be such fun to hang out with; from Idgie the bee charmer to Mrs. Threadgoode the story teller; each one lived a life to be emulated. Last, but not least, there is Vianne the chocolatier who knows how to turn a bite of food into an event.

I have always found it very interesting that we typically do not bless the food until it reaches the table. However, I like to bless my food in the preparing. I want to evoke the traits of a full and passionate life into each morsel that I share with my friends and family, just like Tita and Babette.

Next, I move on to one of my all-time favorite movies: Michael starring John Travolta and Jean Stapleton. I just love the part where the ladies are discussing what Michael, the angel, smells like. It always makes me laugh because the angels do frequently come with a very sweet smell indicative of cookies or candy. Once they smelled just like caramel popcorn. YUM! I would love to hang out with these two quirky angels and just enjoy their delightful humor and aroma.

Lastly, invoking back to a prompt recently that I missed (darn it!). I would love to sit and listen to the poet Kahlil Gibran while sipping on some wonderful wine.

“…And in the autumn, when you gather the grapes of your vineyards for the winepress, say in your heart,
I too am a vineyard, and my fruit shall be gathered for the winepress,
And like new wine I shall be kept in eternal vessels. 
And in winter, when you draw the wine, let there be in your heart a song for each cup; And let there be in the song a remembrance for the autumn days, and for the vineyard, and for the winepress.”

 

To eat good food, to drink good wine, to enjoy the company of good people this is what life is all about. Luckily, for me I do not need to reach out to characters in books and long dead poets for such wonderful things. Alas, because I am blessed with them in my life all the time.

Just this weekend we hosted some good friends at our home. The conversation was engaging, the laughter loud and full, the food was marvelous, and we had a song in our hearts with each glass of wine that was poured. I felt love, I knew the presence of the angels and I am ready to do it again!

 PS: The angels are giggling because they so enjoy when we enjoy the simple things in life. Simple and wonderful!

I invite you to join me in raising a glass to good food, good company, laughter and angels,

Juju

Your thoughts...

